REVIEW: Origins Starting Over Age-Erasing Moisturizer with Mimosa

No matter how this review was going to go, thumbs up were going to go to Origins and Sephora. For Earth Day 2012, Sephora teamed up with Origins and offered a full-size bottle of either Origins’ Starting Over Age-Erasing Moisturizer with Mimosa or A Perfect World Antioxidant Moisturizer with White Tea just by bringing in an empty cosmetic product container to a Sephora store for recycling. It didn’t even have to be an Origins container or even a container of a product sold by Sephora. These moisturizers retail for $46.00 and $39.50, respectively. So, really, thumbs up all around.

I was on the hunt for a good night time moisturizer so I opted for the SPF-free, Starting Over moisturizer.

Origins Starting Over Moisturizer Origins Starting Over Moisturizer

What it claims to do, as per the Origins website:

This moisturizer with Mimosa, Argan leaf and Green algae helps to rebuild collagen, repair visible lines and improve skin texture and tone. Skin looks and feels measurably younger from day one.

√ 94% saw a significant reduction in the appearance of lines and wrinkles.

Best for reducing lines & wrinkles

Sounds amazing in theory, right? The first things I noticed upon using this cream: it is thick. Like heavy-hand-cream thick. (Reminded me a little of L’Occitane’s Shea Butter Hand Cream, if you’ve ever sampled it.) The smell is slightly orang-y/citrus-y. Not my personal favorite, but certainly not unpleasant. But, a little like a heavy hand cream, this definitely left a light sheen on my face after application (read: a little greasy). So if that’s something you hate, be forewarned. If you did want to give this cream a go, I’d definitely recommend it for nighttime use rather than daytime use, even if the Origins website says you can apply it to your cleansed skin in the A.M. and P.M. In my opinion, it is much too greasy to be applied in the daytime. Not to mention the fact that you would have to layer an SPF underneath for daytime use. Despite the richness of this cream, I will say that it didn’t break me out and I woke up to distinctly hydrated skin. My skin also felt slightly plumper the next day.

Origins Starting Over Moisturizer

Consistency of the Starting Over Moisturizer: so thick it can do a handstand on your skin.

But…well, even upon finishing the tube, I didn’t see much difference in my skin tone or texture. The moisturizer did the trick in terms of hydration and slight skin plumping, but I was rather disappointed in its failure to live up to its claims as to tone and texture. I did have some dry patches on my forehead, and by tube’s end, those were largely cured–probably by the sheer richness of the product. I don’t have much in the way of wrinkles, but the slight fine lines I have under my eyes also stayed unchanged. Most of all, did I really see visible differences from “day one,” as touted? Not really. Sure, I enjoyed the hydration, but that’s something I could get from any moisturizer.

I love the idea of products with a strong natural ingredient lean. And I want to love Origins. But my experience so far with their products has been disappointing. (One of these days, I’ll get to reviewing their Plantscription Anti-Aging Serum with Anogeissus. Preview: it was a walletful of fail.) In the end, I don’t think I would shell out $46.00 for a moisturizer that left my skin “distinctively hydrated,” but with nothing more.

But, just like how I opened, I really want to commend Sephora and Origins for this initiative. It’s not something they had to do. And they certainly could have done it in a more restrictive way (e.g. “Only bring your old Origins containers!” or “Bring in any empty container from a product currently carried by Sephora!”). So five cotton balls for that.

One thought on “REVIEW: Origins Starting Over Age-Erasing Moisturizer with Mimosa

  1. Pingback: NEWSFLASH! 20% at Beauty.com | fraîchelook

Join the Fray!

